For example, almost every time I wake the tablet, I see that it’s not connected to my wireless network; upon login, I am sometimes lucky enough to see that it reconnects automatically. Other times I have to restart Windows in order to reconnect. But today I am seeing something totally new, after waking my Surface, I am noticing that the wireless adapter got disabled on its own. Going to Control Panel and navigating to Network Connections, I tried to re-enable the adapter, but it didn’t work. So if you’re experiencing the same issue, there is an easy workaround to this problem, just follow the steps below:

Fixing Surface Pro 3 wireless network adapter

Now go back to Network Connections and hopefully, you’ll see that the wireless adapter is enabled once again. Go right ahead and connect to your local network as it should be working normally. Though, you might have to re-enter the wireless passphrase.

While in Device Manager, tap the Scan icon from the toolbar (the little PC with a magnifier on top). This action will scan your Surface Pro 3 for changes, at this point Windows 8.1 should detect and reinstall the corresponding driver automatically. The reason to why the Surface Pro 3’s Marvell AVASTAR adapter got disabled on its own still unknown to me, but I’ll keep digging and I will update this article accordingly. All content on this site is provided with no warranties, express or implied. Use any information at your own risk. Always backup of your device and files before making any changes. Privacy policy info.